Up In The Clouds

It has come to my attention through extensive reading that I miiiiiiight be a Maladaptive Daydreamer.

For those unfamiliar, Maladaptive Daydreaming is a condition in which an individual excessively daydreams or fantasizes very vividly and intricately, essentially living a movie plot or novel type scenario in their minds. They are aware that they are daydreaming, however. There is no illusion of reality within the fantasies, and they are able to distinguish between the two.

You can read more at the Wiki page here… http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Maladaptive_daydreaming

They waste quite a lot of time with this, and can easily day-dream away, doing nothing else for hours.

That describes me, but I was under the impression everybody daydreamed. Sure, some more than others, but my question is…

At what point does it reach excess?

They’ve linked it to OCD, so there you go. (Yeah, I’m mild OCD). Although, this could just be my OCD playing up anyhows, haha. Who knows, I’m no professional. And as I understand, it is a relatively new concept anyhows, as far as these things go. There may not be an excess of anything. They may just have noticed that some daydream more than others and had to give it a label. ‘Cause that’s what people do these days.

Either way, I’m not worried. I love daydreaming. And I will continue to do so. Right now. And then maybe I’ll write another post. See you all then, fellow daydreamers!

 

How often do you daydream?

4 thoughts on “Up In The Clouds

  1. There is nothing wrong with Daydreaming, this is sometimes what gets me through my day. If I am having a horrible day, I just daydream… and it makes everything better. However, I do think that it can get to an excess, but like you said, it is nothing to worry about 🙂

    • Thanks for the comment! I’m inclined to agree with you. And I know what you mean about it getting us through the day. It’s refreshing actually to hear that come from someone else. 😀

  2. Day dreams can be creative; might depend on where they take you. Daydreams might be a form of creative visual thinking. Probably if we still the mind and look at what we are doing from above, or in retrospect, we might discern where the healthy day dream ends and the fruitless ones begin.

    • You make a great point, Mystic. I really like that. I suppose it may take a bit more analyzing on my part. Perhaps they are largely creative processes. Could be useful yet even. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

