I Am No Vagabond… Yet

Money problems. The bane of my existence.

To me, financial problems really are the most annoying. Not in their nature, but simply in the fact that they exist. I suppose I could be (and have been) labeled as somewhat of a Hippie/Bohemian type, who prefers to place value elsewhere. But, as stubborn as I may be, I am not completely unrealistic. Only slightly…

Image

Long-term financial well-being is not something I have ever granted much thought. Foolishly, perhaps, but nevertheless the fact remains. And it is catching up. Not that I will allow it to deter me from my current path or from obtaining my sought-after hopes and dreams. But still, it is annoying and present. It slows us down. Like a monkey on the back. A fat, greedy monkey. And the selfish little bastard won’t let go because he knows you have no choice but to continue carrying him.

Image

Picture Credit: Van Jazmin

Anyways, it became apparent just how broke I am today. Not that I was not really aware, but, you know, there was a particular occurrence that helped humble me. (Seems to be a lot of those lately. Do I really need that much cutting down?)

I was searching for apartments. My flatmate and I are fleeing this place, and in the instance that we cannot afford to flee together, I must be well-read in my solo options.

Now, perhaps you have heard the popular joke; ‘you know you’re broke when you think of a lottery ticket as in investment.’

But, I was not Googling jokes. I was inquiring about apartments. And I realized, you really know you’re broke when you search apartments within your budget and car-park spaces for rent keep popping up.

But thankfully, I may not have to move into a car-park. We have possibly found a way to get by. And I know it’ll all be fine. After all, you know what they say about, um, bank accounts… it isn’t the size that matters, it’s how you use it!

Image

17 thoughts on “I Am No Vagabond… Yet

  1. This made me laugh – in sympathy, I hasten to add! I well remember those days! Years! Very best of luck on the apartment-searching-for front. Ali

  2. Bohemian Man,
    Slap that monkey! šŸ™‚ For starters, you have your values – that’s more than a lot of blokes. Humbling experiences are okay. You’re resilient, right? It will “all be fine.” Change almost always turns out for the better. Step into your big boy pants and carry on! And good luck, too.

    • Haha! Values – check. Resilience – check. Big boy pants – check. Unconditional support from generous and wise bloggers – check.
      Thanks very much, Eric! Change is a necessary thing, and I shall carry on and adapt with it. And cheers for the (possibly needed) luck!

  3. I feel like I could have written this. Sometimes I have this overwhelming urge to sell everything and just travel. Health insurance? Psh. Bills? No thanks.
    I visited the north shore of Kauai, Hawaii 10 or 11 years ago. There are hundreds of people who just live in tents on the beach. They’re the stereotypical hippy community. It’s not realistic, but I remember thinking that would be awesome. Sleep on the beach. Bonfires. Music. Simplicity in a beautiful place. I think it’s completely underrated by all the “responsible adults” in the world.

    • Oh I know that urge! It is tempting, isn’t it? Sometimes I feel I was designed to be a nomad. And that I’d enjoy and get a lot out of that lifestyle.

      That sounds amazing! Very interesting stuff. I’d love to try that kind of community living. Maybe not for a long time, but it would be a tremendous experience.Simplicity. That’s a good word. Very underrated.

      Thanks for that comment, and visual. I absolutely love that idea. Speaks to me in volumes as well. I like the way you think!

  4. Sounds like you’re handling this particular humbling experience with your usual humour and grace – not that I’d expect anything less from you, at this point! Pretty sure I’m getting a bit of a blog crush on you, now. You’ve been warned šŸ˜‰

    • If I ever lose that humour (I may have to get a dictionary for this ‘grace’ word, haha) you have my permission to shoot me. Aww, shucks. I feel like I’m in school again and I just found out the pretty girl in the next class thinks I’m ‘kinda cute in a goofy way’. Hehe. You are incredibly sweet, Amb, that has really made my day. šŸ™‚

      • Yeah, well, if it makes you feel any better Maverick, I feel like I just got chatted up after class by the charismatic – and cute, natch – guy from the school play. (I was a drama geek in high school. Just go with it).

        This is going to be fun.

      • This is already fun!

        And I like that. Does this mean I could talk you into helping me with my homework? Maybe we could go over some lines later… šŸ˜‰

      • Oh, definitely. And staging too, if you think you can handle it … šŸ˜‰

        … sorry, what was I saying? I got distracted for a bit there. Right. Fun. You know Mav, if you haven’t liked Words Become Superfluous on facebook yet, you should. There’s exclusive content that’s not available on the blog … plus then I can properly introduce myself. See? Fun! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

