Winning Is For Those With Something To Prove

I have been thrown some very humbling experiences lately. It’s becoming a trend. Mostly through interaction with others. Last night, it happened again.

Some background for this story… there’s a futsal (indoor soccer) tournament Friday night. You all know I’m a goalkeeper, right? Well, some did. Now you all do. I’m not horrible. I haven’t played in a couple months though, because I did my back (soccer related) and felt I needed some good rest. So I’m probably rusty. And the reliability of my back is basically unknown.

Well, the back feels good. Not perfect, but good. And while I don’t want to jump back into the league right now and play every week, a one-off tournament won’t kill me.

So, when I heard about this tournament, I kept my feelers out. I was arrogant enough to think I could just pop up a couple days beforehand and jump onto a team. This is despite all the teams having committed by last week.

Now, the Ladies’ section of the tournament was cancelled. Too many teams sustained injury problems and this and that happened. But the one team still keen to play was offered a spot in the Men’s section. They were unsure. They didn’t have an official goalkeeper. And they’re friends of mine. Well, I thought they were. So, gentleman that I am, I offered to  keep for them. But they weren’t sure on that, either.

They decided to play. They decided to take a vote on whether to use me in goals.

I was voted out.

Ouch. I’m feeling like the kid who gets picked last for the basketball team at school.

They’re playing without a keeper. This means they would rather rotate players through goals than use me as a permanent keeper. That shit hurts, ladies. Really. That’s some cold shit.

But it isn’t all sad news, folks. Today is another day, and that apparently does mean something.

I had offers today to join three different bloke’s teams.

I suppose they found out I was fit to play. Well, now I don’t know who to play for.

But I did half-committed to a team, so I guess I’ll end up playing with them. It would be rude not to. They got in before the others, and at that point I was feeling like no-one else would want me. They’ll be fun, too. Mostly. My flatmate is on that team, and I know we’ll have a laugh. But they’re not the strongest team to offer me a spot. So it depends if I want to win or not.

Meh. Winning is for people who have something to prove.

 

Wait.

That might be me…

8 thoughts on “Winning Is For Those With Something To Prove

  1. The “the kid who gets picked last” reference was hilarious and i must admit it was really some cold cold shenanigans. I have been through some of those myself and it is not a pretty thing to go through…. I think we all have something to prove in life and at times life can punch us in the stomach dead cold, and eventually give us that chance for redemption. Hopefully you do good with that team that picked you.. good luck!

    • Thanks very much! I’ll need that luck.

      Haha, I don’t blame them really. I’m just using them for humour. Not that it didn’t hurt a little bit. I mean, it’s not like they had a better option!

  2. Well, as the most non-athletic person in perhaps the whole of North America I can only say good luck to you. Soccer, oddly enough, is one of the only sports I enjoy playing and is incredibly unpopular here. Go figure.
    Go with the team with the coolest people. Whether you win or lose, it’s better with people you enjoy. As for the girls, they evidently don’t understand that you should never look a gift horse in the mouth.

    • Non-athletic? You’re a marathon runner now! Thanks though, luck is always handy.
      Good advice, thanks. I think I’ll do that. No bad options in that regard, but I think I’ve made my decision.
      Haha, I like that saying. Maybe they haven’t heard it.

  3. I’m going to guess what led to the women’s decision. As a female who has competed in male sports (we didn’t have a girl’s hockey team in high school) you are often judged as being “good, for a girl”. I think the main reason for their decision was that they wanted to be an all girls team, so that if they won any games it wouldn’t be because they had a guy for a keeper. They weren’t rejecting you…. they were rejecting a male player. But, I might have that all wrong and they were just rejecting you personally… 😉

    • Yeah i can appreciate that. And i think you’re likely right. Maybe i was hoping to remove that ‘oh theres a girls team in the mens comp’ mentality that some will have and assist them in representing the team as just another team in the same comp.

Leave a Reply

