Quote

Are You A Fish Climbing Trees?

“Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid.” ― Albert Einstein

Are you a fish climbing trees? That’s how I have been feeling. I think I’m still searching for my exact talent. It is there somewhere. I know it is.

I do love this quote. Because it relates, but also because it shows awareness that there are many different forms of genius. And we all have greatness in us, it just comes differently to each and every one of us. And it also shows us that judgement is an absolutely useless activity.

The key, and hard part oftentimes, is recognizing, or finding that particular form of genius. I am still searching. But it is a worthwhile endeavor I feel, so I will continue putting energy towards it.

Have you found your genius? Because it’s there. It’s waiting  for you. And it wants to be found.

If you have, who has tips to share for the undertaking of this journey?

Either way, best wishes to you all, my genius friends.

16 thoughts on “Are You A Fish Climbing Trees?

  1. I love this quote! Never heard it before.
    I have a sticker (given to me by a local band) on the back window of my car that says: ” Practically Einstein.”
    Almost….but not. It is true that everyone has their strength and weaknesses. Finding where we fit in the best, where our innate talents (whatever they may be) will shine, it sometimes difficult!

    • Haha, very cool! And I agree, that is the hard part. But is nice to know that we have strengths that will fit in somewhere. Provides a certain level of optimism and hope, no matter where you’re at.

  2. “Have you found your genius?”
    No, I have a feeling she is hiding in the closet or the attic and doesn’t really want to be found at all. 😉

    This is something I have wrestled with so much. I know I want to be a writer (I have no illusions of it being my genius, though). I want to share stories with people and create worlds for them, but I also want to write about real things that will connect with and encourage others. It’s hard to know what that will look like or how/if/when it will happen. Until then, I’ll just keep going to school and writing my heart out. I’m a dork, but this is my reality. Ha!

    If you find the secret let me know and I’ll do the same. It’s possible that we just need to keep moving forward. As long as we don’t get stuck where we are we’ll be okay, right?

    • Haha, well burn it to the ground and smoke her out!
      Wow, we’re definitely on the same level (again). Resonating with everything you’re saying here. Could have written that comment myself! I feel ya, and I say absolutely keep doing what you’re doing. Keep moving forward as you say. I think you’re right. If we don’t get stuck in one spot we’ll be fine. We’re moving on a path, so as long as we continue, we’ll be okay. I already got stuck for years. I have begun again. Luckily I found my way back from the scrub and attached myself to a path. We’re alright as long as we stick to it. At least I’ve learned that lesson now.
      I’ll certainly let you know if I find any secrets, but don’t hold your breath! It’s taken me a long while of constant errors just to get to this point.

    • Of course you may! I’d love you to. I stole it anyway, haha. At least you’re borrowing it with love. I love it too, can’t wait to see what you do with it!

  3. this is a marvelous quote! thanks for sharing it.
    there is someone dear to me who things they are dumb – but they are NOT dumb
    they have a particular angle of intelligence that is simply not measured by a standardized test…
    they have gifts that i do not have
    this world can often be so narrow at recognizing the gold in people
    the gifts of each one
    perhaps we will come to move towards such seeing, a wider way of seeing
    what if standardized tests had this quote (with the lovely image on your banner) on the front covers
    the second page could say “take a deep breath and know you are more than this test”
    or something like that
    thank you for your post and for sharing it at the Halloween Blog Party 🙂

    • Well said! I agree completely. One of my brothers is much like the person you speak of. He would struggle with any ‘standardized’ test at school and such, but he has a completely different form of intelligence. He is so aware of people and the innerworkings of the mind, it is amazing. I like to think I am very in-tune with people, but wow, he amazes me. But so many people overlook the “gold” in him, which is just criminal. Thanks so much for the comment! See you at the party! 😀

Leave a Reply

