The Ultimate Procrastination

This Daily Prompt asks us what we have been putting off. For me, in short… chasing life.

I have been experiencing and connecting sufficiently for the most part over my 29 years. But, I haven’t been chasing. This year has seen that change. Or at least seen the transition period towards that change.

I have always been, I don’t know, afraid perhaps, of truly chasing my dreams. That ended this year. I have thrown caution to the wind and embarked on the pipe dream. Because, why on Earth not?

I have been sticking to my New Year’s resolution, too. I don’t usually make one. I don’t know why. I suppose because I have never been good with change. Glad I have shirked that habit.

Now, my resolution this year may seem like an odd one to most. For me though, it was very necessary. Anyone who knows me would say, ‘about bloody time!’

Be more selfish.

And I have. I have done things not through expectation or for others, or for any other cause. I have done things solely for me.

That was an important step. To stop carrying the weight of others quite so much and start carrying my own weight. It’s coming together now. I still need to remind myself due to poor habits formed over the years. But, there has been a marked improvement. And continues to be.

And now that I am chasing what I want from life, for no other reason that that’s what I want, I feel I am moving along the correct path. I still don’t know exactly where that path leads, but it is at least a path I’m carving for myself. How do I know it’s the right path?

Because I know what the wrong one looks and feels like. And I have the clarity to know this path is not a wrong one. And if it isn’t a wrong one, it’s a right one… right?

Well, hopefully. Because I am not turning back now. Not for anyone. This one is for me.

18 thoughts on “The Ultimate Procrastination

  1. Bravo! I feel like I’m applauding an accomplished son. You are speaking the right words…transition, clarity, selfish, and me. They’re all indicative of forward movement. You are clearly on the right path and those who know you are right to chime in with “about bloody time.”

    Don’t know if you read an older post in which I tackle the concept of being selfish and extreme self-care. Here’s the link: http://tonningsen.wordpress.com/2013/06/15/whoa-extreme-self-care/

    You know me well enough (I think) to recognize this not as a shameless plug. It deals directly with your resolution. And a noble goal it is.

    Carry on, mate. This is good ‘stuff.’

    • Sweet! Thanks, Eric! Good to get some confirmation. Read your post, that was very relevant. Thanks for the link! Some good advice in there.
      I shall carry on!

  2. YOU GO EJ!!!
    Sounds great! I wish I could do that…and I think I’m learning?
    I’ve done a lot of things for others and sometimes I need to just…well let it go and I’ve been told before (I had this awesomely honest and lovely teacher once) that I needed to take my thoughts and actions into my account as well as others – if not, more.
    She’s right.
    And thank you for sharing. It really opened my eyes.
    🙂

    • Thanks! And you’re right, you should! You’re obviously aware of it, so that’s the first step. We need to take care of ourselves before we can take care of others. Otherwise you’ll burn out and not be able to take care of anyone.
      My pleasure, thanks for the comments! 🙂 All the best with the selfishness. Do it!

  3. Oh gosh, I’ve been going through that lesson this year as well. Balance is the word that always comes back to me. I have to take care of myself SO THAT I can take care of others. I can’t keep on giving and giving when there’s nothing left of me to give. I’ll only succeed in becoming bitter, worn out, desperate, unhappy, unfulfilled, and defeated. Here’s to learning how to be selfish in the best possible way. Good luck to you! We’ll be better people once we get this down. 🙂

    • Balance often seems to be key, yeah. You’re absolutely right. It’s a good lesson to learn. Good luck to the both of us! Like you say, we’ll be much better for it. We’ll get there!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: The Squawk of Unopened Books | Expressions

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Procrastination | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  7. EJ! This was wonderful. I’m so proud of you for knowing what you want your life to look like and taking steps to make it that way. It’s not an easy thing, by any means. Thank you for sharing – so encouraging to listen to someone else and to realize you’re not the only one who’s trying to figure out where their path is and how to walk it.

    • Thanks, Amb. It has taken me a long time to work it out. Well, I’m still working it out. But a long time to even get to this point. Gee, such a process! Who can really be bothered? Haha.
      It’s also nice to know I’M not the only one trying to figure it out. Thanks for the comment and the support! 🙂

      • That’s one of my favourite things about blogging – it seems that no matter what subject you choose to talk about, you can always find at least one person who wants to talk about the same thing!

  8. Pingback: Procrastination Time Again… | planningforaccidents

  9. Pingback: Procrastination Time Again… | planningforaccidents

  10. Pingback: Procrastination? I only manage my time in a unique way. | Embroid Yourself

Leave a Reply

