I Blame Damien Rice

I have the worst sleeping patterns ever. I fell asleep on the couch tonight at 9 p.m. I awoke at 2 a.m. I am wide awake now.

I had just gotten home from work. I say ‘work’. I referee indoor soccer competitions. It largely doesn’t feel like work. And it was the junior comp today. They’re all great kids. Lots of fun, really.

So, I had just gotten home from the reffing thing. Reheated myself some left-over pasta. Grabbed a pear cider. Turned on some tunes. Ate my pasta. Drank my pear cider. Turned on my laptop to attempt to produce something blogworthy.

Fell asleep.

Yeah, I fell asleep on the couch to tunes. Blame Damien Rice. It was his fault.

And then I awoke, 2 a.m.  The tunes weren’t on anymore because my laptop battery had fallen asleep too. Again, I blame Damien Rice.

So, now it’s 3 a.m. and I am just getting started on this here blog. I still have nothing witty or interesting or valuable to share, so you’re getting this. Terribly sorry. I’m going to post something else, too. Probably another music post. I have been big on that lately. I have always been consumed by music, but am completely and utterly immersed in it at the moment. Thoughts of not much else making themselves heard. Oh, well.

Here is the song I fell asleep to. The Blower’s Daughter by Damien Rice. If you’re wondering what movie those clips are from, that would be ‘Closer’. Enjoy, but try not to nod off…

9 thoughts on “I Blame Damien Rice

    • I see 3 a.m. most nights. It’s not great, is it? All the best with that insomnia!

      Yes! An amazing song also. I agree, very powerful. Most of his songs are. Probably what I love most about his work. So much emotion, and you feel it too. Love it.

      Thanks for the comment, Sarah! 🙂

  1. Damien Rice is amazing! I saw him live at a festival in June, he managed to get the whole audience completely silent. To manage that at a festival is just incredible, so a big thumbs up to that! It was just WOW! One of the best live acts I’ve seen. Been completely in love ever since…

Leave a Reply

