‘Me’ Music; Awesome Actors in Music Videos Edition

I absolutely love finding a video with a favourite actor being all brilliant in it. Below are some songs I love, with music videos made more awesome by actors I love. And I even showed restraint and left out the Passion Pit one with Sophia Bush. But only because I posted that one yesterday.

Let us begin with the obvious. ‘Weapon of Choice‘ by Fatboy Slim. Let’s just say, I am on board for anything Christopher Walken decides to do. I could watch the guy hail a cab. There’s just something about him that I find naturally hilarious.

And now onto some choices that are as much about the music. ‘Lover of the Light‘ by Mumford & Sons is, like any of their songs, absolutely magnificent. Then throw in Idris Elba and, well, I am truly captivated.

And now, a lesser known video, I think. ‘Not About Love’ by Fiona Apple. I am a bit partial to Fiona’s songs. I have all her albums. I think she’s extremely talented. And then add Zach Galifianakis. That clown. Well, it’s a cute video I think. Makes me do that half-laugh, half-smile thing.

And now, some absolute joy. ‘Don’t Worry Be Happy‘ by Bobby McFerrin. Starring Bobby McFerrin, Robin Williams and, um, that… other guy.

And a classic. ‘You Can Call Me Al‘ by Paul Simon. Because, I love Chevy Chase.

And to finish, something kinda whack. Matthew McConaughey in ‘Synthesizers‘ by Butch Walker and the Black Widows.

12 thoughts on “‘Me’ Music; Awesome Actors in Music Videos Edition

  1. EJ you have turned me into a bad mummy! I couldn’t get the Christoper Walken/Fatboy vid to play and have spent half an hour faffing about with it until it finally worked, all the while my 3 children were clamouring for breakfast, poor little mites. I LOVE this video, I first saw it years ago and then for the life of me I couldn’t remember which one it was and have been dying to find out ever since. I was literally only thinking of it the other day! No-one else could have done that dance and gotten away with it like CW did, he is just the best. Thank you for making my day! Now I must go and feed my poor kids 🙂

  2. yes, yes and thrice yes! Loved these. I wanted to add two – Robert Downey Jr in Elton John’s ‘I Want Love’ and Justing Timberlake in Elton John’s ‘This Train Don’t Stop’…

  3. Yaay!! Fatboy Slim !!! Well, now I’m awake. 🙂 Loved all these videos, and I hadn’t seen the Fiona Apple one before, so thanks for that. Here’s my contribution – it’s not technically a music video, but it’s still about seven kinds of awesome … much like yourself 😉

  4. See, told you I’d be a horrible follower, EJ. I look away for a bit and miss so many posts! Sorry ’bout that. But I do enjoy what I read. Hadn’t realized the celebrity in a music video was a genre, but you’ve found plenty of examples. The Paul Simon and Bobby Mc bring me back. I didn’t even have to push play on Call Me Al before I started hearing whistling in my head–classic. Thanks for collecting all in one place 🙂

    • p.s. agree with your take on C Walken–he’s brilliant and just naturally funny. I couldn’t stop smiling during that clip, especially after he started flying.

      • Glad you liked them! They are a good bit of fun. And you’re a good follower! I know it’s hard to keep up. I know I can’t keep up with everyone’s posts. No way!

  5. Pingback: Does my head look big in this…..? | the mmmmm family

Leave a Reply

