Back In The Saddle

Uh-oh, four days have passed without me writing here! I had been trying to force myself to maintain a habit of writing every single day. I was doing well for a while. This week I started struggling with the blog ideas. But, then my head drifted towards other ideas.

I have been dabbling with my screenwriting. That’s fun. I don’t know if I’ll ever come up with something worthy of chasing professionally, but I at the very least enjoy it and it gives me a chance to writeΒ something.

And I know via that means of writing daily, I neglect you all here. So, I apologize. I have missed you all, if that is any consolation. I have been thinking about you and your blogs. Mostly your blogs. Let’s not make this weird.

But, here I am forcing myself to write something on my blog. And it is something of nothing, but… well, that is okay, too. Right?

I think it is important for me to continue writing every day. And know that if I am not here, hounding you all with my nonsense, I am in fact still writing. Just, in a different medium. My nonsense is being confined to screenplays only I will see, or a novel I will probably never have the guts to attempt anything with, for a lack of belief that my words are worth reading anymore than anyone else’s.

Whoops, I got a bit mopey there. I didn’t mean to. And as I remind my friends constantly; “I do not hold a negative self belief, I merely hold a realistic one.”

I believe it. No-one else does. Does that make it false? Who knows. But, just because I may think something is beyond me, does not necessarily mean I won’t attempt to grasp it all the same. People have been overachieving all their lives. (See Bieber, et. al.) Β So, why shouldn’t I be allowed to?

You’re right. I should. And gosh-darn it, I will.

10 thoughts on “Back In The Saddle

  1. I, for one, would enjoy reading your screenplay. I suspect it would be chock full of your truly appreciated thinking and writing. As for your blogdom absence, it’s permissible. Your WordPress public just requests you not leave us in an unanticipated lurch, again. πŸ™‚ Seriously though, you gotta be having fun – with whatever you choose to do. Find it. Revel in it. And become awesomely good at it.

    PS Check the stress and pressure at the door. It’s rarely worth carrying. πŸ™‚ Thanks for a predictably honest and thoughtful post.

    • Thanks, Eric! Maybe you will one day. I shall refrain from unanticipated lurches! Well, attempt to. No promises.
      You’re right on both accounts: Having fun is the aim, and stress and pressure has no worth here. I must remember both. Thanks again for your fantastic comments, I really do appreciate them. πŸ™‚

  2. I always feel bummed when I write nothing posts, but I think those are often the best and reveal the most about us. Keep writing those screenplays and novels—after all, every famous author had to write a lot of nothing before they wrote the good stuff. We’re all geniuses in one way or another, right?

    • I like revealing posts. And I agree with you. In a way they’re my favourite. I like the lack of agenda they have.
      Keep writing I shall! And that is fantastic advice, thanks. It’s rare to go straight into the good stuff. And you’re damn right we’re all geniuses! πŸ˜€

  3. I’m all about following dreams and passions πŸ™‚ Take aim and see where things go! I’ll be here with the rest of your reader folk to cheer you on, EJ.

    • I agree. Definitely a good thing. It’s hard to keep up the same rhythm for ever. I think slumps are largely inevitable. Hope you stay strong with the blogging! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

