What A Day!

Well, that was an absolutely delightful day. Here’s a list of occurrences…

  • Visited St Andrews Market out whoop whoop. (‘Whoop whoop’ means ‘far away’, or ‘out bush’, for those unjargonized.)
  • Had an amazing brunch at a little cafe with mum. Oh, I’m such a good son.*
  • Stopped in at a fantastic little winery on the way back. Enjoyed the conversation and wisdom offered by the owner (as well as some fine wine) for a few hours.
  • Cheered gleefully as the Blackhawks won.
  • Bought tickets to Cosmo Jarvis for Wednesday night’s gig!
  • Had Chinese takeout in front of the telly and am now so content I am falling asleep.

Most of those are self explanatory. I do want some depth added to that Market dot-point though. Here goes…

I grabbed some new threads and a bag and stuff, but my greatest purchase was homemade lemonade. A little girl had tagged along with her mum and had a stall next to her’s selling homemade lemonade. She looked bored. She seemed to be having a slow day. I decided she deserved my money and (bad) jokes. I think we brightened each others’ day. And honestly, that lemonade was perfect.

We parked next to a pirate. Well, he was dressed like a pirate. He didn’t have a peg leg, but he was using a walking crutch, so not far off. And the rest of the kit matched. There were some odd characters out.

Speaking of odd characters; I saw a truck-house. I picked who it belonged to pretty quickly. I don’t know if that was a little judgmental on my behalf just because he looked the part, but, well, I wasn’t wrong, let’s just say that. The guy was wearing a viking helmet and smoked a pipe. He tried to have a conversation with me about how politicians are all evil or shit or something… and then he seemed surprised when I guessed the truck-house was his.

Not that I’m against truck-houses, or pro-politicians, but the idea that he could possibly go incognito definitely amused me. And he was just so… textbook. But, I’ll admit I liked the guy. I mean, really, that’ll probably be me in ten years. If you asked my folks they’d tell you I also possess an unhealthy habit of shirking responsibilities to the point of complete self detriment. So, I guess I felt a connection with the guy. Perhaps we both feel misunderstood. I guess I didn’t help him with that one. Sorry, Mr. Viking.

So, that was my day. I won’t just yet update you on my last month or whatever it’s been. Wow, I’ve really been slack here. Just know that I miss you all, and I mean that. I miss you a lot! Anyway, I hope you all had as a good a day as I. Take care, folks!

That’s right ladies, I’m good to my mother. #checkmate …

#shouldn’thaveusedahashtagjustundidallthatgoodworknowlooklikeadunce #whoops

21 thoughts on “What A Day!

    • Thanks so much, Ali! Very nice of you to say. And I love the way you see the way I see the World. Hehe. That sounded tongue in cheek, but I actually mean it. And it’s great to be back! I missed you much!

    • Oh, ZB! I missed you terribly. You are such a great emitter of glee. You’re so sunshiny, you’re intoxicating. Can’t wait to catch up with all your hilarious posts!

      • Aww, such a kind reply!
        I’ve missed your witty, clever, thought-provoking and utterly whimsical posts! Each day, when I refresh my reader, I look for your blog!
        🙂
        I thank thee for returning to the land of blogging!
        🙂

  1. EJ !!! Welcome back to the blogiverse, babe. I missed you !!! But you already knew that 😉
    #virtualeyelashbatting #blogationships #thankgoodnessmymotherdoesntblog

  2. Sounds like an awesome day! Whoop whoop is used in a celebratory way over here eg ‘It’s Friday whoop whoop!’

    So, you’re an Aussie who likes animals and you’re nice to your mother. How are you single!!! Ladies! Sort it out!!!

    • It was! Oh, yeah, I know that ‘whoop whoop’. Maybe my example is supposed to be without the “h’s”. Anyway, it all works.

      Haha, if those are my main pros, that’s exactly why I’m single. But thanks, Suzie! 🙂

  3. I believe it’s been 3 weeks, EJ. Not that anyone’s counting. *ahem*

    I love the phrase “whoop whoop!” I’ll definitely be using it! We would say it was in the “boonies.” Whoop whoop is definitely better.
    Sounds like a lovely day! I’m sure you made the lemonade girl’s day. The winery sounds awesome! (Wine? Hello!) And I prefer to think of the ability to read people as a gift—being discerning, not judgmental. Sometimes the line is a bit thin over here and I can’t tell which I’m being. :/

    Welcome back, EJ!

    • That long?! Oh wow, that ain’t right.Um… whoops.

      In the “boonies”? Haha, that’s awesome. I think we’re trading phrases for the next week.
      Agreed! I know what you mean about that thin line. I think that’s probably because you’re very empathetic and just ‘know’ people. So it seems too easy to be anything other than judgmental, even if it isn’t. I think we’re alike in that way.

      Thanks, Kaela! 🙂

  4. How sweet you buying that lemonade 🙂 You’re sweet!

    I enjoy reading other lives. It’s funny how it endlessly fascinates, to know of how other humans fared. A breezy write.

Leave a Reply

