Self-Indulgence Is Underrated

Well that was the most self-indulgent meal I’ve ever cooked for myself. I think.

I do go through waves of really valuing and hence acting on feelings of indulgence. I am feeling particularly self-indulgent tonight.

I sit here now with what I just prepared: Steak with avocado, garlic prawns, and a side of pasta salad with a glass of wine. And it didn’t take as long as I thought it would.

Maybe I did it wrong.

Tastes like I did it right.

Nice work, surf and turf. It’s almost as much fun to say as it is to eat. “Surf and turf”.

How do you like to indulge?

10 thoughts on “Self-Indulgence Is Underrated

  1. Food, of course! Nothing is better than a heaping plate of homemade chicken carbonara or a perfectly cooked steak or sweet gelato affogato! Maybe I should have been Italian?
    I love food. Why else would I exercise? 🙂

  2. Chocolate. Peanut butter. Chocolate and peanut butter. A whole night to myself with nothing to do but catch up on my favourite blogs. (I have all three of those things right now, and am feeling very indulgent indeed). And PS: to continue one of our earlier conversations, I’ve changed my mind about ordering in when I come over for dinner. I’d like everything on that menu, please. The chef included, of course 😉

    • That does sound good! And what do you meant by ‘chef’? I’ll happily serve you chocolate and peanut butter, but if you expect me to make that shit from scratch… you dreamin’! 😉

      • Lol! See what happens when I try to be smooth?! I meant I wanted everything on your surf n’ turf menu – you had me at garlic prawns. One of my favourites! And you were the chef for that particular meal, so … sigh. I know. Smooth is so not my thing.

  3. Uhhmm that sounds pretty damn amazing. What you made there.. I probably would gobble it up in seconds.

    My best way to indulge? Nutella and peanut butter sandwich with coke zero and a tub of strawberry and cheesecake ice cream. Mmmm..

Leave a Reply

