Now THAT’S A Happy Meal

My brother and his girlfriend visited me tonight. Out of the blue. I got a phone-call just after midnight. I was sitting on the couch, writing. I had the music channel playing on the telly. I guess they figured I’d be up. You wouldn’t call normal people at that hour. The call was from his girlfriend. She didn’t even have to ask if I was up. Just if I was home. She did ask if my housemate was awake. He’s interstate. She said they were in the area looking at Christmas lights and felt like popping in for a visit.

I love getting visits from them. I love my brother. We’re extremely close. And his girlfriend has only been on the scene for a couple of months, but that’s going really well. I’m glad, because she is awesome and they’re damn good together. I think the world of her already. So, naturally I was ecstatic that they felt I warranted an impromptu visit in the middle of the night.

And with them around (especially my brother) you always get odd snippets of conversation. I’ll leave you with some dialogue. I know, he’s a massive liability. Try going out in public with this guy. No shame.

Brother: I should put a dance pole in my room.

Me: You don’t have room in your room.

Bro’s GF: Put one in the… kitchen.

Bro: Yes! Then you can sexy dance while you make me a sandwich!

Bro’s GF: (laughing) I could do that!

Bro: You could use the mayonnaise as pole lube.

Me: Mayonnaise is not pole lube.

Bro: Oh, that was weird. I just got turned on and hungry at the same time.

Bro’s GF: Can we get cheeseburgers on the way home?

Bro: Aaaand clamburgers.

Me: They don’t sell those at McDonalds.

Bro (winking at his girlfriend): They don’t have to.

4 thoughts on “Now THAT’S A Happy Meal

Leave a Reply

