Shine However You See Fit

I visited mum the other day.

She has the Christmas tree up, as she does every year. And the tree is well decorated.ย The decorations are mostly traditional. She has the baubles, and the other little ornaments. The star, and of course the tinsel.

My favourite of all the decorations on that tree however, are the lights.

Not simply because they are lights. The lights are not necessarily my favourite decoration on other trees.

But these lights are special.

These lights are slightly older than I am.

Mum cannot remember their exact age. She thinks she’s had them over thirty years.

Oh yes, these lights are troopers.

And after thirty years you may expect issues.

Well, you wouldn’t be completely wrong.

Don’t get me wrong. They do work. They have always. They just don’t conform to the rules and guidelines set out by the original light-makers.

And for that I highly respect them.

You see, they are meant to flash blue and green on, and then switch to the red and orange. And alternate in a logical pattern.

They have followed a different pattern as long as I have known them.

Really, they are radical.

And sometimes they stick to a pattern for a Christmas period, and then it’s different the following year. Sometimes they follow a different pattern each time you turn them on and off.

They legitimately have a mind and will of their own.

It makes lighting the tree all that more exciting.

I will be very sad the day they stop altogether. I love those lights. They have character.

14 thoughts on “Shine However You See Fit

  1. Love this! It’s those little quirky things that stand out and make life special. I’m very impressed that the lights still work at all after 30 years. It seems they are made of better mettle than anything we have here.

    Did you all ever have the bubble lights? They are kind of ancient and probably no longer allowed because of the fire hazard. My grandmother had some and they’d get so hot you couldn’t touch them—not comfortable for the tree, I’m sure. They were pretty though! (They’ve probably engineered better ones, but without the danger what’s the point? ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

    http://www.familychristmasonline.com/trees/ornaments/dangerous/dangerous_decorations.htm

    • Exactly! I love the quirk in all things. It’s what life’s about, I think. you’re right, that they still work at all is pretty impressive. They just don’t make things like they used to.

      I am not at all familiar with the bubble lights, but they look VERY dangerous! Haha! That’s amazing. I can’t believe people used some of the things on that site. To be fair, you can’t touch these ones I’m on about either, as they also get too hot. But, as you say, they’re pretty, and everything is cooler with a higher danger factor.

      They kinda like these… http://assets.inhabitat.com/wp-content/blogs.dir/1/files/ledxmaslights2.jpg
      Only they don’t all shine at once. Or, they may. You just don’t know!

    • Haha, yes, probably a lot like me. I can relate with those lights for sure. Thanks, Eric! I appreciate the comment/compliment, and shall definitely continue to shine however I see fit. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Oh I love this post E.J. there’s nothing better than nostalgic slightly dodgy Christmas decorations! I’ve got decorations that my granddad used to have plus all my mum’s old ones that she had when I was a child growing up. Our tree always looks a bit ‘crazy’ with old battered decorations alongside some of the ones the little M’s have made but it kind of sums us up as a family and it certainly looks unique! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Haha, yes I do love dodgy nostalgia as well! Your decorations sound like a fantastically unique mishmash of nostalgia and sentimentality. The way Christmas should be! Never replace them! ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I LOVE that you’re emotionally involved with your Christmas decorations!! One more thing to add to our list ๐Ÿ™‚ When I went away to my first year of university, I got a little two foot tall artificial christmas tree from wal-mart. It was covered in fibre optic snowflakes and sparkly tinsel bits that changed colours when you plugged it in – best tree ever! It finally broke down last year (10 years later!!!) and I was crushed.

Leave a Reply

