‘Me’ Music – Soulful Selection

I wanted to share some music. Well, I want to keep sharing music. And I realized I have not made a music post in the last month. Really, there’s is more than enough good music around, and even in my collection alone, to be able to share with you most days. Once a month is horrific. I do apologize. So, without further ado, I present to you tonight’s selection:

Fat Freddy’s Drop – “Clean The House

I saw Fat Freddy’s Drop, a New Zealand group, live a couple years ago. They are amazing. Absolutely spectacular live. I’m also more and more impressed each time they release something new.

Electric Empire – “Changin’

I saw Electric Empire live a couple years ago as well. Another great live band. I didn’t actually know them before that. They were opening for someone else. What a pleasant surprise. I own everything they do and always will. Love them.

Lee Fields & The Expressions – “You’re The Kind Of Girl

Black Joe Lewis & The Honeybears  – “Livin’ In The Jungle

Charles Bradley And The Menahan Street Band – “The World (Is Going Up In Flames)

Alabama Shakes – “Hold On

14 thoughts on “‘Me’ Music – Soulful Selection

  1. Fat Freddy’s is awesome, one of the best kiwi bands ever, in my opinion! If you liked them, try Salmonella Dub, Trinity Roots, Black Seeds… Love Alabama Shakes too…will check out your other selections later tonight after work. Cheers!

  2. Ahh, soul music. Also known around here as What to Listen to On Date Night. 😉 Love it! Have we talked about Fitz and the Tantrums before? Sorry if I’m repeating myself, but they’ve been coming up on my Songza playlists a lot lately. You’ll like their style, I think.

    • I LOVE Fitz and the Tantrums. I have an album of theirs. One with this song, actually. None of my dropkick ‘friends’ have heard of them. They’re so useless when it comes to music. Haha. I should’ve known you’d love them, Amb. 😉 And yes, that’s definitely date night music.

      • No, I should’ve known! As if we’d ever not be in sync. 🙂 I love that you actually own this album, that’s too perfect. xoox.

  3. Holy holy– the only one I’m familiar with is Alabama Shakes but these are all great from my quick samplings. I’ll have to pull this back up tomorrow while I’m at work and looking for some tunes. Awesome!

  4. Sooooo….I’d never heard of any of these groups—except for the Alabama Shakes, and them only in passing. *Shame face*

    Now I’m educated. And I’ve added to my Spotify selection for further listening. Electric Empire was my fave of the bunch. Thanks for the hook-up! I was in desperate need of something new.

    • No shame to be had, Kaela! That’s the whole idea behind these posts. To share my musical tastes and expose some of my favourite artists to others. I’m happy to hear you didn’t know most of these groups before. Even happier to hear that you liked them! Electric Empire really are awesome. And they’re an Aussie band, so you’re even more allowed not to know about them. They’re barely known here let alone overseas.

    • Thank you so much. And thanks for the reblog, that’s amazing! Glad you enjoyed this lot. I’m looking forward to what music you have to share. Love finding new stuff. Cheers!

      • You’re very welcome. While I get my next set together if you hover over the “I’m Feeling This” section on my page you can check out the category Makes My Ears Happy.
        Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

